Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Fourth Chakra

One of the funniest things about this chakra is there is a woman in my class that said she couldn't see her heart chakra, but could see all the others.  She kept saying that she doesn't have a heart chakra, but she is one of the sweetest, nicest, most caring individuals that I know.  I honestly believe that her heart is so big and so bright, that she is just having a hard time seeing it herself.

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra and it is called Anahata.  It is associated with the element of air and the color green, or sometimes purple or pink.  It can bring compassion and balance to ones life, and is involved in service or giving, and receiving.

When this chakra is in balance, physically one might find a healthy heart and lungs, good circulation and blood pressure, good posture, and that the fine motor skills are working properly.  Emotionally one might be able to show affection well, have compassion for others, be able to take care of oneself and accept him or herself.

If the chakra is imbalanced, physically one might see breast cancer, heart disease, lung disease, and shallow breathing.  Emotionally, one might be grieving, feeling fear or self-loathing, jealousy, envy, indecisiveness, or have issues with attachment.

In order to bring the heart chakra back into balance one could chant the word "yam" or meditate.  There are a few options for meditation, including visualizing light in heart radiating out, or using mudras during the meditation such as the lotus mudra or Anjali mudra.  Most pranayama is good to explore, especially alternate nostril breathing.  One might focus on the mandala, which is to the right (link).

Physical activity that one could do would include selfless sevice (Seva), self-care, prayer, massage or making something.  The asanas that one might practice are poses that open the heart, such as fish, bridge, wheel, venus arms, airplane, dancer, tree and cobra.

Love and light my friends,


No comments:

Post a Comment